Toll-Free+1 (877) 999-3321

  • (0)


The International Convention for the Safety of Life at Sea, 1974, is better know as The SOLAS Convention, or just SOLAS.

The SOLAS Convention in its successive forms is generally regarded as the most important of all international treaties concerning the safety of merchant ships. The first version was adopted in 1914, in response to the Titanic disaster, the second in 1929, the third in 1948, and the fourth in 1960. The 1974 version includes the tacit acceptance procedure - which provides that an amendment shall enter into force on a specified date unless, before that date, objections to the amendment are received from an agreed number of Parties.

As a result the 1974 Convention has been updated and amended on numerous occasions. When amendments are made, they are collected and published in a volume for easy reference. From time to time, all of the published amendments are consolidated into the full text of SOLAS, resulting in a published "consolidated edition." Below is a list of the most recent consolidated edition with all amendments that follow. These publications comprise the complete SOLAS convention as it exists today.


Showing: 1-2 of 2
  • Various prices available
    Of all the international conventions dealing with maritime safety, the most important is the International Convention for the Safety of Life at Sea, 1974, as amended, better known as SOLAS, which covers a wide range of measures designed to improve the safety of shipping.The Convention is also one...
    See product details
  • $35.40 $38.91
    This publication contains all relevant resolutions adopted by the International Maritime Organization (IMO) in the process of the institutionalization of the IMO Member State Audit Scheme (IMSAS), as well as other documents developed to support its effective implementation. It includes:- Framewor...
    See product details